The Debt
  • Leading Economist Says Government Debt Might Not Be So Bad After All

    By Michael Rainey

    Renowned macroeconomist Olivier Blanchard says that policymakers may need to fundamentally revise their views on the long-term cost of government debt. Delivering the presidential address at last...

  • Why the Next Fiscal Fight Could Be Much More Dangerous

    By Michael Rainey

    The partial government shutdown has had a limited impact so far, but the dysfunction currently on display in Washington doesn’t bode well for another fiscal fight on the horizon, says Chris Krueger...

  • District of Columbia

    CBO Offers 121 Ways to Shrink the Deficit

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    The Congressional Budget Office has released a 326-page guide that describes dozens of ways the federal government could reduce its large and growing budget deficit. The 121 policy options included...

  • Moody’s Warns of Declining US Fiscal Strength

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    Trump’s tax cuts combined with a slowing economy will diminish the United States’ “fiscal strength” over the next 10 years, Moody’s Investor Service said Wednesday. The gradual decline could pressure...

  • Trump holds a discussion about school shootings with state governors from around the country at the White House in Washington

    Trump Says National Debt Is Not His Problem: Report

    By Michael Rainey and Yuval Rosenberg

    As a candidate, Donald Trump said he could eliminate the national debt in eight years, largely by focusing on better trade deals. But in office, Trump has presided over a considerable increase in red...

The Debt Directory

Tags
Friday, October 13, 2017 - 10:47am
Wednesday, October 4, 2017 - 4:00pm
Monday, September 18, 2017 - 3:30pm
Thursday, September 14, 2017 - 3:00pm
Wednesday, September 13, 2017 - 3:25pm
Tuesday, September 12, 2017 - 3:01pm
Friday, September 8, 2017 - 5:00pm
Tuesday, September 5, 2017 - 3:00pm
Tuesday, September 5, 2017 - 2:30pm
Tuesday, August 29, 2017 - 3:58pm
Tuesday, August 29, 2017 - 8:00am
Monday, August 28, 2017 - 4:33pm
Wednesday, June 7, 2017 - 8:15am
Monday, May 15, 2017 - 5:15am
Monday, January 30, 2017 - 2:48pm
Thursday, January 5, 2017 - 8:30am
Friday, April 29, 2016 - 5:47pm

Pages